8.9 Remuneration of the Executive Board

The law lowering maximum remuneration maximum under the Standards for Remuneration Act (WNT) has applied since January 1, 2015. This legislation sets a ceiling for the remuneration of high-level officials in the public (or semi-public) sector based on sector standards or graduated scales. This standard has applied to higher education since January 1, 2016.

For the purposes of the WNT, the Ministry of Education, Culture, and Science uses a system of remuneration classes based on complexity points for the remuneration ceiling for high-level officials. In 2021, Tilburg University fell into Class G, with 18 complexity points (benefits 10, funded students 3, and weighted education sectors 5). The WNT remuneration maximum for Class G is €209,000 for the full year, based on full-time employment.

The remuneration policy for EB members is set by the Board of Governors. The remuneration is derived from the maximum of salary scale 18 according to the Collective Labor Agreement for Dutch Universities, and it includes a director’s allowance. Vacation pay is 8%, and the year-end bonus is 8.3%. Executive Board members do not receive bonuses, gratuities, and other performance-based compensation. The pension scheme of the General Pension Fund for Public Employees (ABP) applies.

The amounts listed in Table 8.10 are based on the remuneration components in accordance with the WNT regulations of the Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations. A specification is included in Part 2: Annual Statement of Accounts, Section 9. Explanatory notes on the separate items of the consolidated statement of income and expenses.

Table 8.10 Remuneration of the Executive Board (in €)


Prof. W.B.H.J. van de Donk


Prof.A.J. Schuit


P.F.I.M. Snijders, MSc, CPC



Jan 1 2021–Dec 31, 2021


Jan 1 2021–Dec 31, 2021


Jan 1 2021–Dec 31, 2021